Dimapur Government College

Try Trust Truimph

Report on 53rd Freshers Meet cum College Foundation Day of Dimapur Government College on 25th July, 2019

Dimapur Government College celebrated the 53rd Freshers Meet cum College Foundation Day on 25th July, 2019, at the college auditorium with Shri Khekiye K Sema IAS (retd) as Guest Speaker. The programme started with an invocation prayer by Ms. Rebainla Ao, Asso. Professor, dept of Education. Smti Kavili Jakhalu, Principal,DGC, in her welcome adress  encouraged the Freshers to continue to excel in whatever they do. She also acknowledged the sacrifices made by the pioneers of the college. Speech on behalf of the Seniors was delivered by Mr Kibouwi while Ms Nyuhon Moiya spoke on behalf of the Freshers. The guest speaker Shri Khekiye K Sema IAS (retd) in his speech reminded the students that the character they build today will determine their tomorrow. He encouraged the students to inculcate real values in order to face the future. He also reminded the teachers of the extra effort that is required to help weaker students. 

DGC Awards for Academic Excellence were handed out to achievers:

1.     Dr Hokishe Sema Award (Topper in Arts stream) 2019 :  Ms. Imsuinla

2.     L.T Yepthomi Award (Topper in Commerce stream) 2019: Ms. Livikali Yeptho.

3.    Topper in English 2019 : Ms. Ayimnaro

4.    Topper in Economics 2019 : Mr. Sediba K. Sangtam

5.    Topper in Education 2019 : Ms. Akumsenla

6.    Topper in History 2019 : Mr. Kegwahe Thong

7.    Topper in Philosophy 2019 :  Mr. Keyipiebeu Zeliang

8.    Toppers in Political Science:

a)    2nd Sem Honours : Ms. Akihitoli

b)    2nd Sem General : Mr. Adipa L

c)    4th Sem Honours : Ms. Mhono Tsanglao

d)    4th Sem General : Ms. Mhono Tsanglao & Ms. Hongmo

e)    6th Sem Honours : Ms. Chariakliu & Ms. Kimiye K Awomi

f)     6th Sem General : Ms. Imsuinla  

Mr Viketo Sumi, GS, DGCSU gave the vote of thanks. The program was chaired by Dr Hannah Tia, Asst. Professor, dept. of Sociology.

In the informal session “ Extravaganza”  later in the afternoon, the students showcased their various talents through music and entertainment items. In the contest for various titles, the following freshers were adjudged winners in the following categories :

Mr. Fresher 2019 : David Mao

Miss Fresher  2019 :  Mhajani Lotha

Mr. Perfect 10 : Aboka m Kinimi

Miss Perfect 10 : Abigail K Awomi

Mr Talent : Pelelhouto Hozoyeh

Miss Talent : Sanglela Chang

Share with: